The governing body of Ashbrow School has 8 governor positions.   We also have a professional Clerk.  A list of current governors is below.  Click on the links to see photos of our Governors - this is being updated regularly.

Stephanie Bowgett      Chair of Governors
Andi Briggs Vice Chair of Governors
Amy Bunce Co-opted Governor
Ian Howe Local Authority
Louise Kent Co-opted Staff Governor
Dora Plant Head Teacher
Katy Roche Staff Governor
Amanda Green Parent Governor

We are supported by our Clerk, Mrs Lynn Green.

Click here to see the Register of Governors Business interests

Below are the Minutes for the Full Governing Body, Children and Families Committee, Resources Committee and the Standards and Effectiveness Committee.

Full Governing Body

July 2017

May 2017

April 2017

February 2017

September 2016

March 2016 

January 2016

September 2015

June 2015 part 2

June 2015 part 1

March 2015

Children and Families Committee

June 2015

April 2015

February 2015

January 2015

Resources Committee

March 2017

March 2016

January 2016

November 2015

June 2015

March 2015

January 2015

Standards and Effectiveness Committee

March 2017

March 2016

January 2016

May 2015

March 2015

January 2015

Below are the governors' areas of responsibilities.

Mr I Howe                              Health and Safety

Mrs A Bunce                         SEND

Ms S Bowgett                       Equality

Mrs L Kent                            Governor Training Contact

Mr I Howe                             Safeguarding/Child protection

We are all volunteers who wish to make a positive contribution to the school and the education of all its children.

The governing body’s overriding responsibility is to work in partnership with the Headteacher, whom we appoint, to promote the continuous improvement in the performance of the school. We play an important part in raising school standards through our three key roles of setting strategic direction, ensuring accountability and monitoring and evaluating school performance.

The full governing body meets twice a term. Our committees, which cover issues relating to behaviour, curriculum, staffing, building maintenance and finances, meet at least once a term. The governing body makes collective decisions.

As a body, we elect a Chair and Vice Chair and also Chairs for each of our committees.

A governor’s term of office is 4 years.

Parent Governors are elected when a vacancy arises, by a ballot of eligible parents (see Parent Governors’ information).  Local Authority Governors are selected by the governing body from a list of governors appointed by the local authority. Community Governors are appointed by the governing body.  Staff governors are drawn from both teaching and non teaching staff groups and are elected by the staff.

Our ‘Terms of Reference’ are outlined below. These are reviewed at the start of each academic year.

The governing body of Ashbrow School seeks to reflect fully the population of the school and welcomes members from all sections of our community.

The agendas and minutes of our meetings are made available to the local authority and are at the school for anyone to read via the school office. We do, however, maintain the right to confidentiality where appropriate. Non governors may attend meetings at the invitation of the governing body.

We have two sub committees and you can read their Terms of Reference by clicking on the committee name below:


Standards and Effectiveness

Governors who have left their position in the last 12 months


Date Left Office

Dughall McCormick

15th February 2017

Mr Richard Simpson

15th February 2017

Mr Ian Buday      

3rd April 2017


Ashbrow School, Huddersfield at